Becky has arrived!

Becky arrived in Bethel on Saturday, August 17. She is a joy to have around! She's quiet and calm but has plenty of spunk for walking and playing. She has a solemn little judge face when she is sitting still and waiting for a walk outside or for a portrait.

I got a tennis ball out for her and she loves it! She'll chase it and find it and then grip it with her teeth and not let go. But finally she'll relax and let me throw it. She also loves her rawhide and we play fetch with that too. Her rubber chicken is fading in popularity; before coming to Bethel that was her favorite toy, but now I think she loves first her rawhide, then her tennis ball.

We walk in the evenings after work; she's an enthusiastic walker! She makes me walk fast! No lingering over smells for her or exploring every little bit of detritus. She's on a mission to meet and greet the population of Bethel.

Look at her little teeth! Isn't that the cutest little smile? She's right off the airplane at the ERA terminal in this photo. You can tell I'm glad to be holding that little bundle of joy!

I am just in love with this puppy; she's perfect! I was worried that it was too soon to be getting a new puppy, that I'd compare her to Harpo and she wouldn't measure up-but all my worries were groundless. I adore this little girl! She is a sweet companion, snuggling up on the couch when I read/sew/work on the iPad and at bedtime. She leaps into her kennel when it's time for me to go to work (though I still wish I could bring her!). She loves to play but happily gives it up when I get busy and can't toss the ball or her chicken.

Becks is adamant about her bedtime. The other night I was working on my history class homework (just finished up my Alaska Native History course that I took over the summer) and she sat there staring at me. It finally clicked that Becky must need to go out, so we went and pottied. She came back in, jumped up on the couch and settled herself next to me and fell sound asleep. I looked at the clock and sure enough, it was just a few minutes past 9 p.m. Linda, the woman I got Becky from, said she would do that, and I didn't really believe her. But she repeated that performance again last night-played hard until a few minutes before 9, we went out and pottied, and after coming back in, she jumped up on the couch again and crashed while I sewed.

I don't think she likes my sewing <lol>. She tries to chew on my project or the thread when I pick up my embroidery! She's very gentle about it-never leaves any spit or teeth marks-but it takes a bit to discourage her, until she'll finally let me sew. She doesn't play tug-o-war or chew hard or grab the piece, just gently mouths it.

I feel really lucky to have gotten this Boston. Linda is a breeder in Palmer, AK, and because Becky had gotten too big to show successfully in Alaska, she needed to re-home her. I found this out through my friend Roxanne, who owns Holy Dog Pet Boarding in Fairbanks, where I used to take Harpo for daycare. Linda was a bit concerned about the way Harpo passed on, but once she spoke to me, felt that with me was where Becky belonged. Becky has been through all the Boston health checks (and I need to get the list from Linda); she's had her Rabies shot; is spayed (I had her spayed before she came to Bethel); has a microchip; and she's had basic obedience training. And she's only 7 months old! So I feel like I got the steal of the century. Linda could have sold this puppy, but she gave her to me. Gave. Her. To. Me. Can you imagine?? Now you know why I am the luckiest woman in Alaska!

2 responses to “Becky has arrived!

  1. Welcome Becky! Thanks for the wonderful news! I enjoyed her story and yes, you are certainly the luckiest woman in Alaska. Look at those little teeth!!!! How cute!! You both look really happy together, a perfect fit. I have shared your concerns about getting another animal after the passing of a much loved one. I’ve learned, just like you, that even if they are the same breed, they are so different and there’s room to love all of them. Congratulations Mom.

    • Thank you Cathy! Becky is a wonderful addition to my home; I’m so glad I didn’t let my fears stop me from getting her. She is a character, just like Harpo, but so different. We’ve bonded much more quickly than I anticipated-don’t know what I’d do without her now!

Leave a Reply

