Finish what you have

UFO, USO shelves

Well, I have NOT been doing very well at finishing what I have! And the photo is proof in living color! My USO/UFO shelves, sigh… What new projects have I started? The weekend fabric painting project, intended for postcards, tho I've been wanting to try that kind of thing for awhile. I really want to start the little bear I found yesterday! I also downloaded a baby bootie pattern, because I have a slipper fetish. I've had a pair of moccasin soles for, oh, probably 10 or 15 years, and want to make a pair of slipper boots like the pair in Jan Brett's book, Annie and the Wild Animals. I love kids' books! Some of them-Jan's books especially-have such inspirational art! And currently, I'm working on three projects: a crazy quilted picture frame, a heart envelope, and the monthly evenweave project from the local needlework guild. I should be working on a birthday present (May 29) and a wedding gift (August, 2005).

I had intended to work on a wall quilt/hanging I started two years ago, at the Crazy Quilt Society's 2004 retreat, in Cindy Brick's Hanky Panky class. If you ever get a chance to take a class from her, DO IT! She is a wonderful person, excellent teacher; very knowledgeable, patient, kind, etc., etc. Her knowledge of history is amazing, and she is an engaging speaker.

I should also be working on: tie dyeing socks, making placemat purses, and a few angels, for a one day bazarr on July 4. A friend is renting a table and asked me to join her, and I've been wanting to try this out for a long time, so now I have to get my act together and make stuff to sell! I should do a little tutorial on the purses; I showed how to make them at the 2006 Cabin Fever Quilters' Guild retreat. The idea came from an article in Threads Magazine, Sept/Oct 2005. Super easy and fun!

So what have I been doing? Working on the book! I'm up to page 12 on the blog, and editing page 27. I have been working diligently on the CQ picture frame too. I'm trying to take Gizmo out for longer walks, for his sake and for mine-we both need more exercise. And I've been shopping 'way too much! That is coming to a halt, so I can have some money for working on the house. I need more space (and will convert the garage to a useable room), I need to do some winterization (caulking doors and windows), and repair/replace the front deck.

My sweetheart, Gizmo. Lazing around in front of his doghouse.

Gizmo Gizmo

Leave a Reply

