Bitchin’ Mittens!

P.T. Barnum, I think, is the one who said a sucker is born every minute, and I am a sucker for fiber art challenges. Bitchin’ Mittens is a new challenge. Just what I need, another project! 🙂 But I always need another pair of mittens; always seem to lose a pair every winter.

the main plan:
Basically, it’s to create a pair of mittens as ART. They do NOT have to be wearable. They don’t have to be knitted; but, they must contain the following:
1- They must be a pair (They don’t have to match, but at least compliment or be recognizable as belonging together)
2- The must contain cuffs, main hand portion, and thumbs
2a- OK, thumbs are not needed if they are for babies (Added 6/12/06)
3- They must contain at least 50% fiber

Signup-none, really, but the mittens should be completed by Sept. 1, and you probably want to add your name to the list (click on the “main plan” above).

Prizes:

Lots of prizes and there are a TON of categories, so you can surely make at least one pair of mittens to fit one of them. AND remember, they don’t have to be wearable! so paper mittens would qualify. or cardboard. or wire. or ???

My mittens will, of course, feature some sort of crazy quilting. Polar fleece lining, a corduroy exterior, and made from a Cooperative Extension pattern. I’ve made a bunch in the past, and they’re pretty easy. The pattern (actually it’s a bunch of patterns) is $3.00, and isn’t on the CE website. I think I need a new one, so guess I’d better hotfoot it down to the office and buy one! They’ll probably be similar, at least in some aspects, to this pair:

old mittens
I wore these mittens all winter; no elastic cuff, which I really like. They fit under your jacket better. My sleeves come down far enough that there’s no gap.

Leave a Reply

