Latest crazy quilt

Happy Birthday Colette Happy Birthday Colette

Happy Birthday Colette!

A very tardy birthday gift for my chief supporter, shoulder-to-cry-on, listening post, and very good friend. It depicts my view of Colette; someone who loves animals, the outdoors, appreciates my efforts at art, an excellent seamstress, an artist in her own right, and a great First Friday companion.

It’s also my entry for Craft Sanity. Jennifer is having a drawing for Melinda Barta’s “Hip to Stitch” book. I listen to Jennifer’s lively podcast every week, when she “host(s) an online discussion about art, craft and all things creative”. This is THE best craft podcast I have listened to. Jennifer is professional, entertaining and very down to earth.

Melinda Barta came to Fairbanks, AK, last summer, but I unfortunately missed her visit. Her book looks fascinating; full of lively but simple embroidery projects. Suitable for the beginner, an experienced seamstress could take a project and go farther with it.

I must admit, I am thoroughly jealous of Melinda’s success as an embroideress. Too bad that she’s such a nice person! I know I would really enjoy meeting her, and maybe taking the Giz-man out for a hike with her. So, envious or not, I would love to have a copy of her book. If I don’t win the drawing, I guess I’ll have to break down and use my Bob Hague Award (a gift certificate to JoAnn’s), from my Tanana Valley State Fair entry.

One response to “Latest crazy quilt

  1. Thank you for the kind and encouraging words on this website, Edie!!! I finally took time to check it out!
    And yes, the wallhanging you made for me is hanging on the wall by my bed so I look at when I go to bed at night and when I get up in the morning. It is not only one of my most prized possessions, because you made it, but also the best piece of art I own!

Leave a Reply

