Hats, organza hats!

caps ready to be brimmed

They’re done! I made 9, count ’em, nine organza hats. And discovered yet again, that I am really not a production seamstress. I tried to streamline my process, and made them assembly-line style. It did not work for me; by the time I got to sewing the brim on, I hated those hats!

organza baseball caps

Fortunately, I had the sense to call on a friend for some help, and Jenny sewed all the brims on for me. What a relief! And she did a great job, as well as buying one of the hats. I wish I had a better picture of them; they are so attractive in real life.

Iris hat Iris hat
Putting the cap section together was fairly easy, and still a learning experience. I love the flowers but I was happy to find that I liked the flowerless blue hat in the front, which is a very lightweight blue star fabric layered over an equally light weight solid blue fabric. I’ll be making one of those for myself! I have pink stars too, and I layered that over a pearlescent white fabric. Maybe I’ll make a pink one for me, and a blue one for my sister.

3 responses to “Hats, organza hats!

  1. It’s unfortunate that you disliked finishing the hats yourself but that’s life. They look great!

  2. Thank you David, for your comment! I work & live in a 12×24 cabin in Alaska, and as you might imagine, quarters are very very tight. I finally decided that I was more frustrated with the difficulty of working in such a small space, than with the hats. I’m hoping a move to larger quarters in the near future will solve the problem.
    And I’m so glad you like the hats! Yours are so
    sophisticated… I wish more women would wear hats; they really complete an outfit I think, even my fun ones, if they’re worn with the right attitude and the right outfit.

  3. OOOOOOOOOOOOh…ahhhhhhhhhh
    What a great idea..I have been collecting hats and hat patterns for years and have never seen any like these! How did you ever get organza to stay true to form?
    This is a double treat for me-thanks so much.

Leave a Reply

