New jeans!

Needle felted jeans Needle felted jeans

Okay, they’re not new jeans, but they’re refurbished. I took a needlefelting class in December at A Weaver’s Yarn, and this was my class project. I was surprised at how easy it was! And at the wide range of fibers that can be needlefelted – basically anything. I used colored roving and several different yarns on the jeans. The big flower with the yellow center covers up a hole in my knee (I was running, tripped – you know the rest!), and a flower has to have a stem and leaves, doesn’t it? I used a piece of iron-on knit interfacing on the back to hold the fibers onto the jeans; I could have wet felted them too, but the sparkly yarn is (obviously!) not wool, so I thought the interfacing would be more secure.

I’m looking forward to making some needlefelted embellishments now, using the yarn I’ve been stacking up for crazy quilting embellishing. And nuno felting might be in my future too; I can see a hat…

Leave a Reply

