Wardrobe Refashion pledge

Wardrobe Refashion

I signed up for Wardrobe Refashion again. So here’s my pledge:

I, Edie, pledge that I shall abstain from the purchase of “new” manufactured items of clothing, for the period of 6 months. I pledge that I shall refashion, renovate, recycle preloved items for myself with my own hands in fabric, yarn or other medium for the term of my contract. I pledge that I will share the love and post a photo of my refashioned, renovated, recycled, crafted or created item of clothing on the Wardrobe Refashion blog, so that others may share the joy that thy thriftiness brings!
Signed___EMB_______________.

I find abstaining from buying new clothes wonderfully easy, unlike some of the fashionistas out there, because I hate clothing stores (borrring!!). Shopping for thrift store finds is more fun than buying new, but I find that I do most of my shopping at the transfer station. That’s getting harder and harder to do, as more people discover the treasure trove, and I have less time to check out the recycle area. But, lucky me, over the last year or so I’ve collected plenty of pre-loved items. And yes, I’ll be hitting some thrift stores in Ireland, and will be coming home with a (hopefully) small selection of awesome Irishness!

See my previous projects.

And some inspiration: Unique clothes and retail store ideas.

3 responses to “Wardrobe Refashion pledge

  1. I also enjoy this type of shopping, although I don’t get to go to the transfer station. I have heard and seen the amazing items and clothing friends have found there!! I am excited, but I haven’t done that just yet. As far as thrift stores….Love them! My Mother brought me up right. I find the neatest and coolest things there. If you go often you can find some unforeseen treasures. Hope you find some in Ireland, happy searching…

  2. What a great post! It was a pleasure to stop by. I particulary like your banner.

    OWOH was really wonderful. I’m stopping by to keep in touch and send you good wishes.

    Cookie Sunshine

  3. Awesome pledge. If everyone could just do this for a little, I think they would learn a bit about how little they really need new things – even though they really think they do.

    Way to go! Recycle.

    it’s easy for me… I hate shopping for clothes! and clothing is so resource intensive-MUCH better to recycle!

Leave a Reply

